The Donald B. Gillies Lectureship in Computer Science

The Donald B. Gillies Lectureship in Computer Science was established at the University of Illinois through memorial gifts by family and friends, with a major contribution by the Digital Equipment Corporation.

Professor Gillies, a native of Canada, received his BS from the University of Toronto and his PhD in mathematics from Princeton University in 1953. While in graduate school, he worked as a graduate assistant at the Institute for Advanced Study with John von Neumann in the fields of game theory and computer science. Before coming to the University of Illinois in 1956, he spent two years with the National Research Development Corporation at Cambridge University and London, England. He was among the early mathematicians to become involved in the computer field, helping to program the first Sputnik orbit and later discovering three new prime numbers in the course of checking out Illiac II. Before his death in 1975, he was experimenting with educational uses and networking possibilities of minicomputers.

Professor Gillies was an inspiration to his students, taking an interest in both their professional and personal lives. Long before timesharing terminals, minicomputers and microprocessors made "hands on" computer science commonplace, he recognized the need for students to have this opportunity and implemented a system to provide it. Throughout his work and teaching he stressed the importance of the ethical use of computing machines in contemporary society. Dedicated to the honest uses of technology, environmentally concerned, a man of wit, vigor, and understanding, he challenged and stimulated all who knew him.

It is hoped that the Donald B. Gillies Lectureship in Computer Science will continue to enrich the lives of students and colleagues as an appropriate memorial to a man whos intellectual excellence and moral purpose made him a distinguished teacher and scientists.

Gillies Lecturers

1999 Hector Garcia-Molina
1998 John Hennessy
1997 Juris Hartmanis
1996 Bjarne Stroustrup
1995 Maurice V. Wilkes
1994 Butler Lampson
1993 Gene H. Golub
1992 Burton J. Smith
1990 Dana E. Scott
1989 Ivan E. Sutherland
1988 John E. Hopcroft
1987 William M. Kahan
1986 Richard M. Karp
1985 Nicholas Metropolis
1984 John Backus
1983 C. Gordon Bell
1983 Arthur W. Burks
1981 James H. Wilkinson
1980 Jacob T. Schwartz
1979 Donald E. Knuth
1978 Frederick P. Brooks, Jr.
1977 Marvin Minsky
1976 Alan J. Perlis