SPA 2007

The 32nd Conference on Stochastic Processes and their
Applications will be held August 6-10, 2007 on the campus
of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign by the
Department of Mathematics in Altgeld Hall.


General information sheet

Equipment available in presentation rooms includes
blackboards, overhead projectors, and computer projectors.

Online registration is now closed. Walkin registrations will be accepted
at the conference on Monday morning at the Illini Union.
Registration Fees: Regular $200; Student $75

Funding Application for Students and Young Researchers

  • Deadline for funding applications is May 7, 2007.
    Funding is available to both U.S. citizens, permanent residents, and
    foreign grad students at U.S. institutions; more details are at funding.html.

Special Session Proposal Form

  • Talks in the special sessions are 25 minutes long
  • Deadline for special session proposals has been extended to April 7th.

Inaugural Doob Lecture:
Marc Yor,
Université Paris VI
The Doob lecture is sponsored by the
Illinois Journal of Mathematics

Lévy Lecture:
Martin Barlow, University of British Columbia
The Levy lecture is sponsored by Elsevier.

IMS Medallion Lectures:
Russ Lyons, Indiana University and
Victor De la Peña, Columbia University

Invited Speakers
Thierry Bodineau, Universités de Paris 6&7
Shizan Fang, Université de Bourgogne
Antal Járai, Carleton University
Tze Leung Lai, Stanford University
Avi Mandelbaum, Technion
Sylvie Meleard, Université Paris X
Martin Möhle,
Universität Düsseldorf
David Nualart, University of Kansas
Yann Ollivier, ENS de Lyon
Hirofumi Osada, Kyushu University
Silke Rolles, Technische Universität München
Scott Sheffield, New York University
Vladas Sidoravicius, IMPA
Gordon Slade, University of British Columbia
Craig Tracy, University of California, Davis
David Yao, Columbia University
Scientific Program Committee

Rodrigo Bañuelos (West Lafayette)
Hong Chen (Beijing)
Bob Griffiths (Oxford)
Dima Ioffe (Haifa)
Takashi Kumagai (Kyoto)
Jonathan Mattingly (Durham)
Sean Meyn (Urbana-Champaign)
Yuval Peres (Berkeley)
Richard Sowers (Urbana-Champaign)
Terry Speed (Berkeley)
Bálint Tóth (Budapest)
Maria Eulália Vares (Rio de Janeiro)
John Walsh (Vancouver)
Ed Waymire (Corvallis)
Feng-yu Wang (Beijing)
Martin Zerner (Tübingen)

Local Organizing Committee

Robert Bauer
Tom Kurtz
Sean Meyn
Renming Song
Richard Sowers


Support provided by:

Institute for Mathematics and its Application*
National Science Foundation

National Security Agency
Office of Naval Research

Center for Advanced Study (UIUC)
Department of Mathematics (UIUC)
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (UIUC)
Coordinated Science Laboratory (UIUC
Office of the Provost (UIUC)
Army Research Office

This conference is supported in part by the Institute for Mathematics and
its Application (IMA) through its Participating Institution (PI) Program. PI
members may use IMA/PI funds to support travel of their personnel to
this conference.


The airport for Champaign and Urbana is Willard Airport (airport code CMI). For information see the airport web page at Another alternative is to fly into a nearby major airport such as Chicago O'Hare, Chicago Midway, Central Illinois Regional in Bloomington, or Indianapolis Airport and then driving to Urbana.

At the University maintains a web page giving a variety of travel information.


Restaurants in Champaign-Urbana

Past SPA Conferences

Paris, July 2006
Santa Barbara, June 2005
Spain, July 2004 (Congress)
Brazil, August 2003
Australia, July 2002
Mexico, May 2000 (Congress)
China, June 1999
Oregon, July 1998


Please use this email address for all correspondence with the conference organizers.

Department of Mathematics
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
273 Altgeld Hall, MC-382
1409 W. Green Street, Urbana, IL 61801 USA

Last modified August 1, 2007