E-mail, search functions, and current weather

Main navigation

Secondary navigation



News & events:

The H. Roy Brahana Prize

The H. Roy Brahana Prize is awarded to the student with the most exceptional undergraduate mathematics career. The award is not restricted to mathematics majors. The Brahana Prize is named in honor of H. Roy Brahana, a distinguished former professor of mathematics.

H. Roy Brahana was born in Lowell, Vermont in 1895. He received his bachelor's degree at Dartmouth College in 1916 and a Masters degree from Princeton in 1917. After a year and a half of service in the U. S. Army in World War I, he got his Ph.D. at Princeton University in 1920, writing his thesis in the emerging field of topology under the direction of Oswald Veblen. He joined the mathematics department of the University of Illinois immediately after getting his Ph.D. and remained on the staff until his retirement in 1963. At Illinois his interests turned to the theory of finite metabelian groups and related geometrical structures, and he supervised many Ph.D theses in that area. He served as acting head of the department of mathematics during the academic years 1947-1948 and 1954-1955. He served as editor of the works of G. A. Miller Professor Brahana was a very popular teacher and generously gave of his time to students at all levels. He and his wife were friendly people and helped create a warm atmosphere in which new faculty could flourish.

Recipients of the H. Roy Brahana Prize

2017 Haidong Gong Boris Xu    
2016 Boris Xu Boris Xu    
2015 Yiwang Chen Yiwang Chen    
2014 Daniel Hirsbrunner Daniel Hirsbrunner    
2013 Brian Freidin Brian Freidin    
2012 Sakulbuth Ekvittayaniphon Sakulbuth Ekvittayaniphon Jinjie He Jinjie He
2011 Meng Guo Meng Guo Yi Zeng Yi Zeng
2010 Yi-Wei Chan Yi-Wei Chan Brent Nelson Brent Nelson
2009 Richard A. Moy Richard A. Moy    
2008 Jack Scheff Jack Scheff    
2007 David Edward Grayson David Edward Grayson    
2006 Simina Maria Boca Simina Maria Boca    
2005 Wing Ho Ko Wing Ho Ko    
2004 Noah Prince Noah Prince    
2003 David Deuber David Deuber    
2002 David Smyth David Smyth    
2001 Michael Geline Michael Geline    
2000 Eiji Aoki Eiji Aoki    
1999 Brad Aaron Friedman    
1998 (two recipients)</
Christopher Francisco    
Matthew Rodriguez    
1997 Ivan Ivramovic    
1996 Tsz Ho Chan
Patrick J. Keenan
1995 Thomas A. Insel
1994 Christine Heitsch
1993 David P. Nicholls
1992 Howard Ding
1991 Jeffrey Ho
1990 Jeffrey Douglas
1989 no award
1988 David Bryce Secrest
1987 Reid Charles Huntsinger
Brian Scott Pilz
1986 Jackson L. Kilpatrick
Michael D. Hollander
1985 Michael William Bell
1984 Debra K. Borkovitz
1983 Jerome V. Walsh
1982 Oscar F. Hernandez
1981 Craig Smith
1980 no award
1979 Richard La Sota
Christopher Bowen
1978 Michael Stillman
1977 Paul Hriljac
1976 Bruce Hajek
Allen Moy
1975 Jerome Coonen
1974 Marlies Gerber
1973 William van Melle
1972 Mark Ephron
1971 Michael W. Jamieson
David Reiner
1970 no award
1969 Stanley Paul Kerr
Robert Edwin Olson
Daniel Eaton Putnam
1968 Eric Douglas Bedford
1967 Edward Paul Culp
1966 Paul Harvey Cox
1965 Hugh Montgomery
1964 William Alan Edelstein