Application Procedure

The Number Theory Foundation (NTF) is an organization whose aim is to collect donations from supporters of number theory and to disburse these donations to encourage research, purchase computing equipment connected with research, help sponsor appropriate conferences, and work to foster a spirit of cooperation and goodwill among the family of number theorists. The NTF does not seek to be the sole sponsor of projects, but rather to share in their support. Contributors of substantial donations to the NTF have the opportunity to decide which area or areas of number theory they wish to support and to specify how the support should be made: individuals, computational projects, conferences, or all of these.

Right now our supporters have directed available funds toward activities in computational and combinatorial number theory, and also toward general number theory conferences.

The NTF is at present a very small foundation and does not have the resources to singlehandly underwrite costly undertakings. We hope that grants from us can be used to help leverage support from other sources.

The NTF prefers that its conference grants be used for junior attendees who do not have other support, and that the grants be applied for and administered by the conference itself, not by individual participants.

The NTF is a non-profit public charity which holds its tax status through its association with the University of Illinois Foundation, Urbana, IL. Contributions to the NTF are fully tax deductible in the U.S. We hope soon to have a similar arrangement in Canada. Contributions may be made by a check to the Number Theory Foundation and sent in care of

Number Theory Foundation
Department of Mathematics
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755

Phone: 603-646-3723
Fax: 603-646-1312

The following are members of the Board of the Number Theory Foundation:

Michael A. Bennett, University of British Columbia
Richard Blecksmith (Secretary), Northern Illinois University
John D. Brillhart, University of Arizona
Brian Conrey, American Institute of Mathematics
Chantal David, Concordia University
Harold G. Diamond (Vice President), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Edward F. Ewald (ex-officio), University of Illinois Foundation
Kevin Ford, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ronald L. Graham, University of California at San Diego
Richard K. Guy (Emeritus) , University of Calgary
Carl Pomerance (President), Dartmouth College
Bruce Reznick, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Andrew Sutherland, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Samuel S. Wagstaff Jr., Purdue University
Hugh C. Williams, University of Calgary

Last modified November 3, 2016