Department of Mathematics
Math 225 - Fall 2010

Introductory Matrix Theory
Section  SL1 TuTh  2pm -  2:50pm in 314 Altgeld Hall

 

Syllabus | Grading | Resources | Homework | Exams and Quizzes | News and Announcements | Lecture Log  

News and Information

8/24/10:   Welcome to the class!

9/2/10: A new item has been added to the Resources

9/7/10: In Homework 1 six of the problems were graded. The six problems chosen for grading are indicated by * (see here).

9/10/10: See here for Homework 3

9/15/10: The first midterm exam will be in class on Thursday September 23rd. See here for more details, including a summary of the main ideas and results covered by the exam.

9/16/10: No homework will be due next Thursday! Homeworks 1-3 cover everything on the syllabus for Midterm 1 so I've decided that we can afford to defer the next homework till after the midterm. It goes without saying that you should use the extra free time to study for the midterm...

9/24/10: See here for Homework 4. The due date is Thursday September 30.

10/5/10: I've shifted my regular office hour by 30 minutes: it's now 10:30am-11:30am on Tuesday.

10/14/10: See here for Homework 7. The due date is Thursday October 21.

10/20/10: See here for Homework 8. The due date is Thursday October 28.

10/20/10: The date of the 2nd midterm has been moved back one week to Thursday November 11.

11/2/10: See here for Homework 9 (due on TUESDAY NOVEMBER 9) and here for details of Midterm 2.

11/5/10: See here for summary of the main results covered in the syllabus for midterm 2

11/12/10: See here for Homework 10. The due date is Thursday November 18.

11/18/10: See here for Homework 11. Note that the due date is Tuesday November 30. The final homework set, Homework 12, will be due on Tuesday December 6



Instructor

Professor Steven Bradlow
E-mail: bradlow@illinois.edu
Office: 322 Illini Hall
Office Hours: Tuesday 10:30am-11:30am or by appointment

Text

Linear Algebra and its Applications  (3rd Edition, Update) by David C. Lay (Addison-Wesley, 2006)

Syllabus

Chapter 1, Sections 1-7
Chapter 2, Sections 1,2,3,6
Chapter 3, Sections 1-3
Chapter 4, Sections 1,2,3,5,6
Chapter 5, Sections 1-3
Chapter 6, Sections 1-6

Grading

Your grade for the course will be determined by a weighted average of your scores for homework, 2 midterms and a final.   The weights of each will be:

Homework 15%
Midterms 1 25%
Midterms 2 25%
Final 35%
Letter grades for the course will be `curved', with the class average corresponding to the boundary between a C and a B.

Resources

  • Textbook website: Study guides, review materials, data sets, case studies and applications, and additional resources can be found here at a website for the course textbook.
  • Tutoring services: The Math Department offers tutoring services for this course. You can find out more here .
  • Demos: The Wolfram Demonstration Project has some nice linear algebra demonstrations. I'll try to list some here but I encourage you to explore the collection yourself. Note: you need Mathematica Player to run the demonstrations but you can download it for free from the Wolfram Demonstration Project website.
    Topic
    Linear Equations: Row and Column View
  • Homework

    Homework will be  posted at this website.  The homework will be collected each Thursday, starting on Thursday September 2. Each week a selection of the problems will be graded. The cumulative homework grade will contribute 15% of the final course grade.

    Homework 1 Homework 2 Homework 3 Homework 4 Homework 5

    Homework 6 Homework 7 Homework 8 Homework 9 Homework 10

    Homework 11 Homework 12 (Due TUESDAY December 6)

    Exams

    There will be two midterms and a final exam. Dates and syllabi will be announced at least one week in advance. The (tentative) dates for the midterms are Thursday September 23 and November 4.

    Midterm 1

    When:  Thursday September 23 (in class at the usual time)
    On What: Chapter 1, Sections 1-7
    See here for a summary of the main ideas and results covered in these sections.
    Average Score: 61/80 = 76%
    Solutions: here

    Midterm 2

    When:  Thursday November 11
    On What: everything after Midterm 1 and up to the end of Section 4.6, i.e.:
  • Chapter 2, Sections 1,2,3,6
  • Chapter 3, Sections 1-3
  • Chapter 4, Sections 1,2,3,5,6
  • See here for a summary of the main ideas and results covered in these sections.
    Average Score: 73/100 = 73%
    Solutions: here

    Final

    When:  1:30–4:30 PM, Monday, December 13
    Where:  Altgeld 314 (i.e. our usual lecture hall)
    On What: Everything covered in class.
    See here for a summary of the main ideas and results covered this semester.

    Lecture Log

    Unless otherwise stated, sections are from the text

    Lecture
    Date
    Sections (to be) covered
    1 Tuesday August 24 1.1
    2 Thursday August 26 1.2
    3 Tuesday August 31 1.3
    4 Thursday September 2 1.3,1.4
    5 Tuesday September 7 1.4
    6 Thursday September 9 1.5
    7 Tuesday September 14 1.6 and 1.7
    8 Thursday September 16 1.7
    9 Tuesday September 21 2.1
    10 Thursday September 23 MIDTERM 1
    11 Tuesday September 28 2.2
    12 Thursday September 30 2.3
    13 Tuesday October 5 2.6
    14 Thursday October 7 3.1
    15 Tuesday October 12 3.2
    16 Thursday October 14 3.3
    17 Tuesday October 19 4.1
    18 Thursday October 21 4.1, 4.2
    19 Tuesday October 26 4.3-4.5
    20 Thursday October 28 4.3-4.5
    21 Tuesday November 2 4.6
    22 Thursday November 4 5.1
    23 Tuesday November 9 5.2, 5.3
    24 Thursday November 11 MIDTERM 2
    25 Tuesday November 16 5.3, 6.1
    26 Thursday November 18 6.1 - 6.3
    *** THANKSGIVING BREAK************
    27 Tuesday November 30 6.3, 6.4
    28 Thursday December 2 6.5
    29 Tuesday December 7 6.6


    Last modified December 11, 2010